Exceptions and Norms

Started by Barzalene, April 22, 2013, 01:40:38 PM

Apparently interesting enough we seem to want to discuss. We were derailing the taboos thread though.
Varak:You tell the mangy, pointy-eared gortok, in sirihish: "What, girl? You say the sorceror-king has fallen down the well?"
Ghardoan:A pitiful voice rises from the well below, "I've fallen and I can't get up..."

Whoops... Sorry for contributing to the derailment of that topic. I'm pretty new to the game and I'm actually very interested to hear what more experienced players have to say about this topic.
Quote from: Nyr
Dead elves can ride wheeled ladders just fine.
Quote from: bcw81
"You can never have your mountainhome because you can't grow a beard."
~Tektolnes to Thrain Ironsword

Don't be sorry at all! That's what discussions do.
Varak:You tell the mangy, pointy-eared gortok, in sirihish: "What, girl? You say the sorceror-king has fallen down the well?"
Ghardoan:A pitiful voice rises from the well below, "I've fallen and I can't get up..."

April 22, 2013, 01:49:23 PM #3 Last Edit: April 22, 2013, 05:03:06 PM by Malken
Pretty simple to me, don't play the exception, play the norm.

Too many are playing exceptions.. "My Pa told me to judge people by their deeds, not the blood that flows within their veins.. So I'll bang you, it's what my Pa would have wanted out of me.", "My Ma was saved by a breed while she was roaming the desert.. Not all breeds are bad, like you.. I.. I LOVE YOU!".

"'Gikers are so powerful, they could curse me if I look at them wrong.. I might as well be very friendly to them, then they might leave me alone! *rips blouse*"

You'd be surprised at how often all of this happens.
"When I was a fighting man, the kettle-drums they beat;
The people scattered gold-dust before my horse's feet;
But now I am a great king, the people hound my track
With poison in my wine-cup, and daggers at my back."

Quote from: Marauder Moe on February 10, 2009, 03:20:19 PM