Horribly confused

Started by 5 day lifespan, July 09, 2003, 10:28:32 PM

From the helpfiles:
Mercenaries, rough types known for their ability to hold their liquor, usually have some small skills which aid in their duties, including the ability to handle a mount and maintain their armor and make small knives useful in the tasks that they are hired for.

I direct you to the mount line.  The last time I played a mercenary, I jumped on a kank and I started riding immediately with no problem.  I was confused, but then I realised that Mercs can ride.  Now recently, I was taking a kank out for the first time with a new character, and, big shock, I couldnt ride.  So i emoted, someone taught me, i tried again, and again, a kank refuses to move.  So, I m afraid I did something abhorrent.  I spammed.  Not only did I spam, but I spammed like a FIEND.  To no avail.  Now, the last time I practiced riding, it took me several hours to get good, but usually it was 14 tries, move a room, 14 more ties, move another room.  At first, then I was doing handstands while doing drive by cross boltings of gith patrols.  Now this time I try, and I must have been working at it for half an hour and I didnt move ONE SINGLE ROOM.  With the number of times I typed that command in, statistically speaking, if my ride skill was at .01% I should have gone at least one room.  But I couldnt go ANYWHERE.
 Now, It was my understanding that you get a warning if you and your gear is too heavy for a kank, so I dont think it was that.  But jeez, how badly was the ride skill tweaked that mercs have to work that hard for no results?  Add to that, that I am a different race than I was the last time I played a merc.  Do some races have no ride skill?  But that cant be, because I have Ride on my list.  At this rate Ill have backstab before I get one room of movement on my ride, and Ill my class doesnt have that!

Perplexed
5DL
You'll never find a more wretched hive of scum and villany.  Except for maybe Allanak."