How did you start playing Armageddon?

Started by Sephiroto, July 09, 2003, 02:16:29 PM

I started playing muds when I was in university. First mud I ever played was a hack 'n' slash called Darkness and Despair. After finding the Mud Connector I came across a glowing staff review of Threshold. Gave that a whirl and ended up staying for two years. Eventually tired of the, ahem,  RP there and went in search of something more intensive and realistic. Mud Connector threw up the Armageddon web page along with some other RP-enforced muds. At first I kinda breezed past the name Armageddon for some reason but eventually read the reviews and read some more reviews on TMS. Sounded good so I read the docs and thought it really sounded good. Made a char - an sneaky char with the word "wiry" in his sdesc but of course - logged in and quickly got introduced to all the pleasantries the 'rinth has to offer.
You can't trust any bugger further than you can throw him, and there's nothing you can do about it, so let's have a drink" Dydactylos' philosophical mix of the Cynics, the Stoics and the Epicureans (Small Gods, Terry Pratchett)

In 1995 I briefly flirted with some WoD MUSHes, but then got shot down; apparently the university I was at didn't approve of computer resources being wasted playing games.  So I had to wait a couple years for commercial internet access to become available in my small mountain town.  The first RP MUD I tried was Threshold, back in 97 or 98.  At first it was free, then after a while they introduced a donation system, and since a new server -was- needed (crashes o plenty) this made sense.  After enough money to buy the new server was raised the donation system didn't go away, but became the registration system, with a $50 US minimum.  The new server deserved a faster internet connection which had a higher monthly price tag, I got it, but the culture of the game became too focused on money for my tastes.