Fun with tinyfugue

Started by janeshephard, December 18, 2009, 08:22:25 PM

December 18, 2009, 08:22:25 PM Last Edit: December 18, 2009, 11:08:15 PM by janeshephard
I'm in between apps and wanted to write a brief note about a cool mud client called tinyfugue.

http://tinyfugue.sourceforge.net/

I've been using this way back since the 1990s. I don't even remember when. '96 maybe.

Movement Modifiers:

Armageddon MUD lets you add a little something to your exit and arrival messages if you put it in braces at the end of your movement. So "e (limping" or "e (dragging a corpse)" would apppear as "Dragging a corpse, the short, tiny dwarf arrives." The hardest thing is typing this constantly each time, even if you use your history to repeat the command and edit it.

The following lets me use one command to add a modifier and unset it at will.

/def mm = /set movement_modifier=(%{*})
/def unmm = /unset movement_modifier

/hook SEND {w|s|n|e} = /echo %* %movement_modifier%;

If you type /mm dragging a corpse and then move at all, the mud client will intercept your outgoing message and rewrite it with the modifier. Once you're done, just type /unmm (or unmovement modify). Handy!

Another thing I like to do is precompile a ton of emotes I can fire off if I'm tired of typing. For example, write up twenty laugh emotes and put them in like this.

/def laugh = /laugh$[rand(20)]

/def laugh0 = emote Cackling, @ throws her head back.%;
/def laugh1 = emote places her hands on her hips and laughs.%;
/def laugh2 = emote Her eyes brightening, @ chuckles.%;
/def laugh3 = emote chortles, nodding her head.%;
/def laugh4 = emote snorts before letting out a brief chuckle.%;
/def laugh19 = pemote hands grab her ribs as she lets out a laugh.%;