Something else to do with Karma.

Started by Vessol, May 02, 2009, 10:38:59 PM

Quote from: FantasyWriter on May 04, 2009, 02:47:32 PM
My two cents:

A year ago, I would have loved the idea: to have the option to start a combat based PC with slightly buffed skills.
I had the opportunity to play a spec app PC that could have killed nearly any readily seen NPC from start.

It's not about skills. Heck, there are times a recruit PC can physically do better than an officer PC and no one really cares.

I'm just saying that if the _player_ has a good understanding than let them start in a higher rank.  As a newbie I always appreciated having regulars/ lifers/ privates/ whatever  who were not commanding officers but higher ranking PCs.

For me, the current set up is like a high school where everyone starts off as freshmen with a very few special-apped teachers.  Where are the upper class men?  Where are the sophomores?   

It would add another layer to a PC society which is supposed to be very hierarchical anyways. 
"The Highlord casts a shadow because he does not want to see skin!" -- Boog

<this space for rent>

Quote from: UnderSeven on May 04, 2009, 03:16:44 PM
The thing about the grind is, just raising the lower cap doesn't make the grind go away.  Quite the contrary it only means that people will grind to get higher. 

And the logic shall set us free.
Quote from: Twilight on January 22, 2013, 08:17:47 PMGreb - To scavenge, forage, and if Whira is with you, loot the dead.
Grebber - One who grebs.

Quote from: My 2 sids on May 04, 2009, 04:13:58 PM
My two cents:

A year ago, I would have loved the idea: to have the option to start a combat based PC with slightly buffed skills.
I had the opportunity to play a spec app PC that could have killed nearly any readily seen NPC from start.

It's not about skills. Heck, there are times a recruit PC can physically do better than an officer PC and no one really cares.