Talkin to the guards

Started by Dakkon Black, May 25, 2003, 08:07:26 PM

Communications between guards and house staff?

Guards should get a board, so PC's can leave messages for houses.
3 (13.6%)
Guards should have NPC talk commands so they can tell who thier bosses are
10 (45.5%)
Leave it as is
8 (36.4%)
I am a noob, whats a guard?
1 (4.5%)

Total Members Voted: 20

Voting closed: May 25, 2003, 08:07:26 PM

Its  hard to be a leader of a clan. You can't be there all the time and when you are you spend your time replacing all the dead recruits. Most people in an IC sense would have to go state thier intentions to a receptionist for the house. In Zal this is usually a guard. So if Joe wants a job nowadays in Zal he'd have to sit around a Bar?? and wait for someone to notice that he has a bone studded backpack, therefore realizing hes a nob and asking if he wants a job. Now as much as it could happen IC its really kinda cheesy. Therefore my suggestion goes as follows:  

Should guards have the ability to be a board??

*disclaimer* No names are real, Salarr is just my example, should pertain to anyhouse.

Eg.

Joe says: Excuse me Mr. Salarri guard, I was wondering if I can get a job

<prompt> Write Green haired man looking for job with Salarr

On Detal around midday a green haired man named Joe was here asking for a position as a guard.

~

Now I realize there are the boards in the bars but its also really hard to explain why the talk of the town is about Joe who's looking for a job.

If not perhaps with the NPC talk commands.

Eg.  Go to the gates of a house

<prompt> talk guard jobs

Guard says: Looking fer a job eh? Yous best go an find Lady Bambam or Sargeant Fredhead.

The house imms could change the names when the time comes or, in the case of a lack of PC's say something to that manner, which ooc you'd understand meant if you want in you'll have to email that imm.

Just an Idea to give a better communications network, whick IC should be in place anyways.