Spiced ale and dehydration.

Started by Dead Drunk., October 03, 2005, 12:16:28 PM

As I lie mortally wounded, and can't wait for a response from the mud e-mail, i'll ask here:

Is it a glitch that means spiced ale doesn't relieve any thirst at all? Even though I was dehydrated I would have thought five mugs would have quenched something, for a bit. Instead I just passed out drunk,  and will soon revert to my maker.

Sad.

:(

This post is pretty funny. Heh. If you're dehydrated, you want to be drinking water. Definitely not alchohol. If you needed a drink in real life, would you start guzzling hard liquor to relieve your thirst?
subdue thread
release thread pit

Yes I would!

I'd certainly guzzle any liquid I could afford if I was dying of thirst in Zalanthas, with a full belly.

Wouldn't you?

Well... I'm pretty sure that drinking alchoholic drinks actually makes you thirstier, not more hydrated. I could be wrong, I'm no health expert. I'm also pretty sure that spice ale is more potent and alchoholic than normal ale.

If I was dying of thirst in the desert and all I had was a bottle of Jack Daniels, I'd probably drink it so at least wouldn't feel anything when I died. But I'm pretty sure most survivalists would recommend pure water when thirsty over booze.
subdue thread
release thread pit

I'm certain you are right. Alcohol dehydrates the body - but I hoped it was a longer-term thing in the crazy world of Zalanthas. And in the short-term it would refresh me enough to...dunno, try something else to get out of my jam.

But yes, water is definatly the thing to drink to survive.

And never drink alcohol when drowning in the sea, as it reduces body heat.

(If anyone finds me, ignore the steel longsword and piles of sid in my inventory please. They're not for you.)

Quote from: "Dead Drunk."Yes I would!

I'd certainly guzzle any liquid I could afford if I was dying of thirst in Zalanthas, with a full belly.

Wouldn't you?