Crafting Material Question

Started by Anonymous, October 04, 2004, 07:23:11 PM

Well, I've been wondering every since I started playing ArmageddonMUD what specifically is 'ivory'? Is it a type of rock material found at a specific location in the Known World? That would be my opinion, but I've also heard another opinion determining that ivory comes from tusks and the like - sort of a bone material. Is it possible to actually find out what type of material ivory really it?

I apologize if this is IC.. I asked a couple different ArmageddonMUD players before asking this and each time I was told to ask on the GDB. So again, if this is IC I do apologize.

I'm not sure what Ivory comes from in Allanak, but on Earth it comes from the tusks of mammals.  Good question, though.  Hope this helps.
'm helpful to noobs, ask me questions, totally noob friendly.

"Mail mud@ginka.armageddon.org if you think you've crashed the game."

--Nessalin

I didn't include it on the mineral page I made because its not a mineral in the sense its dug up. But its definetely not real-world ivory, which is to my knowledge, is exclusive to only a small selection of mammals like the walrus and the elephant, and is merely their tusks.

So yeah, I can't tell you where zalanthan ivory comes from, or how its made (if its made rather then found) and would recommend you ask ICly.

Its an area that wouldn't be common knowledge, but if for some reason you feel your character should know (with a corresponding background to justify) you can mail the MUD and they can let you know the truth.

From www.labs.fws.gov/ivory/contents
   * Elephant and Mammoth
   * Walrus
   * Sperm Whale and Killer Whale
   * Narwhal
   * Hippopotamus
   * Warthog

Ivory Substitutes

Natural Ivory Substitutes

* Bone and Shell
   * Helmeted Hornbill
   * Vegetable Ivory

Manufactured Ivory Substitutes