Ansi and helping to see

Started by Green Sparkles, November 11, 2002, 02:07:21 PM

This is probably an old idea but since I am basically brand new to the game and I didnt see the topic here, I wanted to bring it up. There is another MUD that offers ANSI coloring. It helps to see characters and objects. The MUD seems grat so far but I was wondering if ANSI colors might ever be used? It would help me but maybe create problems I dont realize. Thank you
[Thou art] already dead. stabbed with a white wench's black eye, run through the ear with a love song, the very pin of [thy] heart cleft with the blind bow-boy's butt shaft."

Taken from: Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet Shakespeare

Welcome to Armageddon!

The reason there are no colors is:  It helps keep things realistic.  I know this might sound odd to you.  We value roleplaying, and staying In-Character.  The lack of colors helps us keep from differentiating from the NPCs and the PCs.
To clarify - if you had colors, and were able to tell which people are NPCs more easily, it would allow you to ignore them, and focus only on PCs.  While this works for some muds, it does not in this case since many NPCs are valuabe to the RP'ing experience.
The only case I know of where there is colors is when you are in combat.  The hits on you are in bright white color, contrasting with the dull white/grey.  I know some players have clients that allows them to highlight certain texts in color.
-G
Dost thou love life? Then do not squander time; for that's the stuff life is made of."
Benjamin Franklin  (1706-1790).  Poor Richard's Almanack.

I agree with Gem.

Some people use their clients to highlight some things that they really wouldn't miss, such things like corpses, Meks, Bahamets, magick etc. But yes, ANSI color would really throw off the mood of Arm for me, so I'm personally against it. Though I think it's fine to try and highlight certain things for yourself through your client.