Author Topic: Quality roleplay on a NWN (EE) permadeath server  (Read 276 times)

Akaramu

Quality roleplay on a NWN (EE) permadeath server
« on: October 16, 2019, 07:51:58 PM »
Some of you might have played on Neverwinter Nights (NWN) persistent online worlds back in the day. I never have, but now that the enhanced edition was released on Steam, I've discovered the beauty of player-created content and worlds and would like to invite y'all to come check this out. Good stuff!

Anyone without NWN experience: I'd recommend some single player content to get used to vanilla mechanics before diving into multiplayer.

Single player modules aside (I can recommend a few really amazing ones, ask if interested) I just started playing on a persistent, roleplay enforced server world with permadeath and am kind of impressed by the quality of the roleplay I've seen, as well as the depth and intricacy of its world building and gameplay systems. According to NWN EE's server list it has less players logged in than Armageddon MUD, but the world isn't huge and it's surprisingly easy to run into them. The world I picked is Knights of Noromath. Some points of note:

-Disguise system based off vanilla NWN's bluff / perform skills that lets you adjust your appearance, your displayed name and even how strong / agile etc you appear to others.
-Permadeath is referred to as 'persistent' death. Cleric resurrection spells can bring somebody back, but only if the body is found and retrieved. And yes, bodies can be moved and hidden to prevent this from happening. Characters under level 10 can also deal with devils to come back (for a cost).
-Full PvP, but with effective player justice systems that prevent gankfests
-Players (at least humans) can attain ranks, own property and even become barons
-Weather system that can cause damage and debuffs if you're unprepared and your survival skill sucks
-No erotic roleplay allowed, but PG13 romances are fine
-Guns!
-Multiple characters are allowed