the allanaki senate

Started by 650Booger, June 22, 2018, 04:56:45 PM

is this a thing that was once relevant to the game?  was it once PC ran, and can it be again?  seems like a good way to get highborn to squabble.
"Historical analogy is the last refuge of people who can't grasp the current situation."
-Kim Stanley Robinson

The people on the actual Senate are WAY over PC heads. However, when the Senate meets to vote, it's a big deal and it sends the noble houses all a flutter and even the merchant houses can get involved in some way to forward their own agendas to influence the outcome if the vote matters to them in some way. When it happens, it's usually a THING, but it doesn't happen a lot, I guess.

I can think of MAYBE two times it's happened since I started playing. The one time I KNOW of was pretty huge.
Smooth Sands,
Maristen Kadius, Solace the Bard, Paxter (Jump), Numii Arabet, and the rest.

While I don't think there were ever any PC senators, the Senate used to be at least somewhat accessible to PCs.  I once played an aide to a senator and, in theory at least, could have had influences on his vote.  (I think I was actually asked something like "I forget, what was I supposed to vote on this one?")  When the Senate met back then, there were plenty of PCs in attendance.  It made for very cool moments.

However, these days the "glass ceiling" on PCs has been deliberately lowered and PCs are much further removed from top level politics like that.

There was a Senate plot back in 2015 or 2016 that was really fun (for me, as a player of a then noble).  Staff made it so that the vote buying and finagling had an effect on junior nobles regarding the major deals, and I managed to seriously screw over noble players in another House in ways that had far-reaching affects on my character.
Former player as of 2/27/23, sending love.

Quote from: valeria on June 22, 2018, 09:56:15 PM