Broken Economics and NPC Vendors

Started by Miradus, June 28, 2017, 09:18:19 AM

This has just bothered me since I started playing.

You get a piece of hide from something. The hide vendor says, "Oh, wow! That's awesome! I'll give you 50 sid for it."

But hey, you're a crafter, so you can do something with that hide. Add some value.

You craft it into a sturdy piece of armor and take it over to the armor vendor who says, "I'll give you 17 sid for it."

That tanned, supple hide can be ANYTHING! I'll give you 50 coins for it!

That armor is useful in one limited situation, and isn't very good at it. I'll give you 20.

That's how I've always justified it. I remember a time when providing RAW hides to crafters was more lucrative than tanning them so they could make armor, because the VALUE was in working the tanning skill, not in creating the armor itself. Raw gortok hide would go for like 10 coins a piece, but tanned was less sought after.

Though I do agree, in a general sense, that a base ingredient should not be valued at more than the final product. When we custom craft, we have to come up with the 'value' of the craft ourselves, based on the value of the items. No way am I putting in 200 coins worth of items and NOT setting the value to at least 250 (and even then, with the economy, that should PROBABLY be more like 350)
Quote from: IAmJacksOpinion on May 20, 2013, 11:16:52 PM
Masks are the Armageddon equivalent of Ed Hardy shirts.

Yeah, that's a World of Warcraft economy where everyone values the raw goods more for their skill-up potential.

It's broken. It's twinky. It's why hunting group PC clans spring up and new merchant PC clans do not.

Its not "the" reason. I think Merchant PC clans struggle because unless you're an ESTABLISHED clan, your sword is no better than the sword some 5d merchant made. You need custom crafts that are different, unique, and that people perceive are better than THE VORPAL SHARPENED SHARP-SWORD.