Author Topic: Mud client?  (Read 8577 times)

Lutagar

  • Posts: 299
Mud client?
« on: April 22, 2013, 05:15:20 PM »
What mud clients to you guys use?

Is there one inparticular that's easy to alias spells for?

Sephiroto

  • Posts: 2830
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2013, 05:28:22 PM »
I've used MUSHclient since 1999.  You can do a lot with triggers, perhaps even alias spells.  I always used Arm's in-game aliases for spells.  As limited as they are, they can help in a pinch.

Fujikoma

  • Posts: 2305
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2013, 05:29:43 PM »
I use MUSHclient. It's free and it has a lot of alias and trigger options, not that I ever use them... Kinda like to work on my typing skill while playing.
Quote from: Nyr
Dead elves can ride wheeled ladders just fine.
Quote from: bcw81
"You can never have your mountainhome because you can't grow a beard."
~Tektolnes to Thrain Ironsword

Patuk

  • Posts: 4163
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2013, 05:34:04 PM »
MUSHclient does support magick aliases well, in fact. I use it too, even if I don't play gemmed.
Quote
You take the last bite of your scooby snack.
This tastes like ordinary meat.
There is nothing left now.

Riev

  • Posts: 5675
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2013, 05:49:46 PM »
I'm one of those old men that refuses to use any of your newfangled colors and triggers and menu bars.

There is very little I CAN'T do with GMUD, and the only thing I WOULD want from it is a built in timer system, but I can build that myself. I don't need automappers, and fancy colors, and whatnot. A few triggers, aliases, and being able to JAM on F1 - Disengage in combat clans, and I can do the rest.

/elitism
Masks are the Armageddon equivalent of Ed Hardy shirts.

Barsook

  • Posts: 8083
    • The Sense of Openness
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2013, 05:53:40 PM »
Mudlet for me.

Gunnerblaster

  • Posts: 6727
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2013, 05:57:07 PM »
Used SimpleMUD for the longest of times.

Then switched over to Mudlet when I found out that SimpleMUD had a limit to aliases/color triggers/etc.

After some fine-tuning and tweaking, though, I've definintely come to rely on Mudlet.
Quote from: LauraMars
Quote from: brytta.leofa
Laura, did weird tribal men follow you around at age 15?
If by weird tribal men you mean Christians then yes.

Quote from: Malifaxis
She was teabagging me.

My own mother.

Re: Mud client?
« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2013, 06:02:48 PM »
I use Mushclient, but it's behaved weird since the last time I downloaded it so I've been checking into other possibles myself...

However Mushclient more or less works great for me. Just beware what you alias and what word you use to set them off. I killed one of my absolute favorite, and longest lived characters, by having a spell aliased and accidentally typing the alias instead of the command (by the same name).

The intention was to mount my beetle. Instead I started casting a spell. In the stables. In Red Storm. I didn't even have time to process what happened before *BEEP*. Yeah.

The moral of the story... Just be careful with your aliases. Also, I use Mushclient.  :P
Quote from: jhunter
I'm gonna show up at your home and violate you with a weedeater.  :twisted:

slipshod

  • Posts: 932
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2013, 08:27:06 PM »
I use RoAClient

It has an alias feature, but also something called "Nicknames" which is what I use for spells
“Never do today what you can put off till tomorrow.”

-Aaron Burr

hatchets

  • Posts: 246
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2013, 12:27:06 AM »
I use AL Client. It can be downloaded for free from www.ashavar.com It was a mud game at some point, that I dabbled with a bit but loved their client. The client is pretty simple and allows you to ultimately customize most things about it as you learn to work with it. I have used it since... sometimes in the 90' it feels like forever now.
Life sucks, then you die.

Dakota

  • Posts: 1224
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #10 on: April 23, 2013, 04:25:52 AM »
I use Atlantis.
Czar of City Elves.

X-D

  • Posts: 5723
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2013, 04:50:12 AM »
Mushclient.

I freely admit I started using it because I, at least used to PVP alot and it is faster then any of the other clients.

But I stay with it because it is free, very easy to use and somebody already made a nifty infobar, which has its own thread.
A gaunt, yellow-skinned gith shrieks in fear, and hauls ass.
Lizzie:
If you -want- me to think that your character is a hybrid of a black kryl and a white push-broom shaped like a penis, then you've done a great job

Ben Arie

  • Posts: 61
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #12 on: April 23, 2013, 05:28:56 AM »
I use Atlantis, it's pretty decent, but I haven't looked into any of the fancier features, so I couldn't tell you how good it is for those.

/reply

I freely admit I started using it because I, at least used to PVP alot and it is faster then any of the other clients.

Alots exist in-game?! I would have liked to find out IC!  >:( http://goo.gl/DliZr

I am just kidding.
Your vision goes black.

A foreign presence contacts your mind.

SIG ID: $1$9UpvKn9m$/hFJYF4D15rFEPC/fDqjs1

Maso

  • Posts: 3772
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #13 on: April 23, 2013, 02:21:13 PM »
Hyperbole and a half is my favourite blog. :)

Also Mudlet. Because I like the logo. I haven't figured out how to do anything with it. I can't even make my prompt into colors. Can someone come over and set this shit up for me please? :(
Quote
emote pees into your eyes deeply

I don't always act superior... but when I do it's on the forums of a text-based game

Lutagar

  • Posts: 299
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #14 on: April 23, 2013, 04:23:33 PM »
Because I have the dumb -- I can't figure out how to use MUSHclients aliases. Is there a guide for this somewhere?

Barzalene

  • Posts: 7745
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #15 on: April 23, 2013, 04:53:43 PM »
I prefer cmud for two reasons:
1. Split screen when scrolling up
2. Live spell check
Varak:You tell the mangy, pointy-eared gortok, in sirihish: "What, girl? You say the sorceror-king has fallen down the well?"
Ghardoan:A pitiful voice rises from the well below, "I've fallen and I can't get up..."

Desertman

  • Posts: 9490
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #16 on: April 23, 2013, 05:19:39 PM »
I've used GMUD for years. Highly recommend it, but then again, I'm very accustom to it.
My phone now autocorrects "damn" to Dman.
The young daughter has been filled.

DustMight

  • Posts: 937
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #17 on: April 23, 2013, 08:00:39 PM »
Cmud.

Easy triggers, alliasing, spell-checking (huge important one for me - and why I use CMud over Mushclient - could never get the spell check figured out).

There is one certainty in Zalanthas and that is death.

Barsook

  • Posts: 8083
    • The Sense of Openness
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #18 on: April 23, 2013, 08:01:13 PM »
Mudlet has spellcheck too.   But what...

Barzalene

  • Posts: 7745
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #19 on: April 23, 2013, 08:41:53 PM »
Most have spellcheck, but I find that it's easier to have a spellcheck that points out the errors as you type.
Varak:You tell the mangy, pointy-eared gortok, in sirihish: "What, girl? You say the sorceror-king has fallen down the well?"
Ghardoan:A pitiful voice rises from the well below, "I've fallen and I can't get up..."

Barsook

  • Posts: 8083
    • The Sense of Openness
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #20 on: April 23, 2013, 08:43:02 PM »
Mudlet has that.

3kanks

  • Posts: 686
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #21 on: April 24, 2013, 07:33:14 AM »
Dude!
Definitely worth considering then. Is it cheaper than c-mud? Are triggers easy to set up?

Lizzie

  • Posts: 8142
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #22 on: April 24, 2013, 07:38:57 AM »
I'm one of those old men that refuses to use any of your newfangled colors and triggers and menu bars.

There is very little I CAN'T do with GMUD, and the only thing I WOULD want from it is a built in timer system, but I can build that myself. I don't need automappers, and fancy colors, and whatnot. A few triggers, aliases, and being able to JAM on F1 - Disengage in combat clans, and I can do the rest.

/elitism

I'm an old fart who can't stand mud colors and fancy menu bars too. But I use MUSHclient. The only time I ever use triggers is if I'm playing a mage. But I always keep my spell spreadsheet open when I'm playing a mage, to see "at a glance" which spells I have, what their combos are, whether or not I need a component, which component I need, and what "power" I have the spell at. So for me, it's no big deal for me to type out the spell manually since it's right there to the side of my game screen.
Talia said: Notice to all: Do not mess with Lizzie's GDB. She will cut you.
Delirium said: Notice to all: do not mess with Lizzie's soap. She will cut you.

Barsook

  • Posts: 8083
    • The Sense of Openness
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #23 on: April 24, 2013, 08:32:37 AM »
Dude!
Definitely worth considering then. Is it cheaper than c-mud? Are triggers easy to set up?

Check it out and see.  I didn't really set any tiggers up, only like six keyboard shortcuts for walking commands.

jigglypuffs

  • Posts: 66
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #24 on: May 09, 2013, 07:44:21 AM »
CMUD. It was hugely popular with the first MUD I really played, although I'm not sure I'd recommend buying it now as it hasn't been updated in over two years now and the guy officially abandoned the project. It supports the infobar (although there's a huge problem with it that I can't get around) and has a nice mapper.

Looking forward to switching to Mudlet or TinTin++ at some point.

DustMight

  • Posts: 937
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #25 on: May 09, 2013, 08:22:58 AM »
CMUD. It was hugely popular with the first MUD I really played, although I'm not sure I'd recommend buying it now as it hasn't been updated in over two years now and the guy officially abandoned the project. It supports the infobar (although there's a huge problem with it that I can't get around) and has a nice mapper.

Looking forward to switching to Mudlet or TinTin++ at some point.

1.  CMUD is not Abandoned.
"Is CMUD dead? No. It's a great program and continues to work just fine for thousands of people. Is CMUD "development" dead? Probably. The truth is that I can't continue to pour my life into something that is no longer bring in enough money. It's purely economic at this point. I've said for years that I would work on whatever people wanted to pay for. I have a life and a family and can't just do something as time-consuming as CMUD for free. For over 6 years I continued to work on CMUD at a financial loss. I used up all of our retirement and savings. When the "great recession" hit in 2008 we almost lost our house. I worked a ton on CMUD for several years with ever decreasing sales and my focused attention on CMUD still didn't cause any improvement in sales. So it's pretty simple: if more people bought CMUD, then I would work on it more. "

Ref: http://forums.zuggsoft.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=38068

2. It is still a very good product and worth buying, IMO.  There is no other client that compares.
There is one certainty in Zalanthas and that is death.

jigglypuffs

  • Posts: 66
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #26 on: May 10, 2013, 01:21:30 PM »
I stand corrected. It's not dead in the same sense that Kim Jong-Il and Kim Il-Sung aren't dead. It's development was just stopped indefinitely and it hasn't been updated in two years.

It's not bad though. The mapper is nice and it supports VT-100 (that delicious infobar), which is really nice. It's a little buggy though.

Valincio

  • Posts: 20
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #27 on: May 14, 2013, 01:54:09 PM »
What are aliases? What are you all talking about? I just manually type everything in.

Also, what's an automapper, triggers, all that jazz?

Jozhole

  • Posts: 37
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #28 on: May 14, 2013, 02:13:27 PM »
I  bought cmud and I love it.
Aliases bind a command or series of commands inside of another command of your choice. Triggers will pick up text from the mud and set off commands when it sees the phrase that you specified. They are useful for things like highlighting templars or other dangers in arm for me at least. Auto mapper tries to automatically make a map for you as you move around but it might be easier to manually make your own maps.

Refugee

  • Posts: 1821
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #29 on: May 14, 2013, 02:13:45 PM »
The absolute best thing about cMUD and zMUD is the ability to split the screen quickly with a touch of the mouse wheel, and freeze what just happened so you have time to read it while the live stream is still feeding in the lower pane.  This is incredibly useful in large scale combats.  Love this.

I don't use the automapper anymore, I prefer going through logs and mapping on Excel, a terribly time-consuming method but I like what I end up with, with all my notes and a nice big map riding in another window beside my client, with color-coded cells etc.

I don't use most of the capabilities of zMUD but I can't imagine playing with anything else after all these years.  It's very good stuff.






Jozhole

  • Posts: 37
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #30 on: May 14, 2013, 02:24:38 PM »
Google drive has a nice online alternative to excel that is free. It makes nice looking maps as well

chrisdcoulombe

  • Posts: 1295
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #31 on: May 15, 2013, 02:19:28 AM »
I have a question.  Is there a way in Cmud to not refresh the page when my command line goes over one line?

Oh and google docs are awesome.
Quote from MeTekillot
Samos the salter never goes to jail! Hahaha!

DustMight

  • Posts: 937
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #32 on: May 15, 2013, 07:02:44 AM »
I have a question.  Is there a way in Cmud to not refresh the page when my command line goes over one line?

Oh and google docs are awesome.

Cmud, as far as I can tell doesn't "not refresh" it doesn't send the text.  At least, that's how it appears.  On long lines of text, I've had to hit the command twice (effectively repeating it on the client side) to get it to send.

I once had this fixed - I forgot how, though.  I think I turned off a bunch of unnecessary protocols and then changed either the auto-size option of the text bar and had it default to two lines of text (or more).  Cant' remember now. 
There is one certainty in Zalanthas and that is death.

Jozhole

  • Posts: 37
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #33 on: May 15, 2013, 09:13:04 AM »
You can turn off word wrap for the command prompt by going into options,general,user interface,command line and uncheck word wrap command line. It's not a perfect solution. I wish they would implement a multi line command line like mushclient has. Though that is about the only thing I like about mushclient

DustMight

  • Posts: 937
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #34 on: May 15, 2013, 09:23:14 AM »
I wish they would implement a multi line command line like mushclient has. Though that is about the only thing I like about mushclient

Agreed.
There is one certainty in Zalanthas and that is death.

najdorf

  • Posts: 434
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #35 on: May 15, 2013, 01:15:33 PM »
I use AL Client. It can be downloaded for free from www.ashavar.com It was a mud game at some point, that I dabbled with a bit but loved their client. The client is pretty simple and allows you to ultimately customize most things about it as you learn to work with it. I have used it since... sometimes in the 90' it feels like forever now.

Alclient is wonderful, it is simple and powerful. Can create all type of triggers / aliases. If you decide to use it, I can help you with aliases / triggers and everything else.

chrisdcoulombe

  • Posts: 1295
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #36 on: May 15, 2013, 02:22:28 PM »
You can turn off word wrap for the command prompt by going into options,general,user interface,command line and uncheck word wrap command line. It's not a perfect solution. I wish they would implement a multi line command line like mushclient has. Though that is about the only thing I like about mushclient

So turn off wordwrap. Okay I will try it.
Quote from MeTekillot
Samos the salter never goes to jail! Hahaha!

chrisdcoulombe

  • Posts: 1295
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #37 on: May 15, 2013, 02:34:17 PM »
I turned on Lua command line and word wrap off.  Have to turn parsing off when logging in and then turn it back on.  I think that made it work I will say if any problems occur because I haven't actually played like this yet.
Quote from MeTekillot
Samos the salter never goes to jail! Hahaha!

Barsook

  • Posts: 8083
    • The Sense of Openness
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #38 on: May 15, 2013, 02:36:32 PM »
The absolute best thing about cMUD and zMUD is the ability to split the screen quickly with a touch of the mouse wheel, and freeze what just happened so you have time to read it while the live stream is still feeding in the lower pane.  This is incredibly useful in large scale combats.  Love this.

I don't use the automapper anymore, I prefer going through logs and mapping on Excel, a terribly time-consuming method but I like what I end up with, with all my notes and a nice big map riding in another window beside my client, with color-coded cells etc.

I don't use most of the capabilities of zMUD but I can't imagine playing with anything else after all these years.  It's very good stuff.







Doesn't Mudlet  have it that?

jigglypuffs

  • Posts: 66
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #39 on: May 15, 2013, 05:28:52 PM »
Doesn't Mudlet  have it that?

It does, but last time I checked it didn't flip back to single screen once you scrolled down again. I think it's a matter of time until it does.

najdorf: I have an issue with wordwrap off in that it doesn't really work properly. If you start getting wrapping despite it being off, you can fix it the following way:

1.) Click the prefs button.
2.) Turn wrapping on.
3.) Press ok.
4.) Click the prefs button.
5.) Turn wrapping off.
6.) Press ok.

Turning it on and off through the command line doesn't fix the issue. Maybe it's just me having this problem, but just a heads up if it's a common issue.

Taven

  • Helper
  • Posts: 2185
Re: Mud client?
« Reply #40 on: May 15, 2013, 06:26:53 PM »
What mud clients to you guys use?

Is there one inparticular that's easy to alias spells for?

I use MUSHclient. Here's how the alias system is best used in regards to magick:



So then to cast the spell you could do...

Code: [Select]
alias wek gith
That would cast the spell at level wek on the gith.

Code: [Select]
alias mon templar
That would cast the spell at level wek on the templar.

As mentioned in the picture, you'll want to pick a good word for the alias, you won't literally want to use the word "alias".

If you wanted to control if the spell is "un" or "nil" you could change the lines to read:

Code: [Select]
alias * * *
Code: [Select]
cast '%1 %2 element sphere mood' %3
Then for casting, you'd type (for example):

Code: [Select]
alias nil wek gith
Hopefully that's all clear. Let me know if you have questions!  :)
As of February 2017, I no longer play Armageddon.