Good to Great

Started by Dink, May 18, 2003, 02:25:30 PM

I am new to Arm and am wondering what kinds of things make exceptional rping and character devlopment?  

I've played extensive amounts of Muds and D&D  so i'm quite familiar with character creation and the like, so I guess i'm looking for more than just the basics...  

What does it take to go from Good to Great, and then again to God-Like?
You are not not important!"

You know what I think is most important to character developement?  More so than how in depth your background is, or how many personality quirks you create, or how descriptive your emotes are, is what you do with your character and what sort of impact does (s)he have on the game world and its characters.  You may have a masterpiece of a concept worked out, a character who is portrayed flawlessly well according to the race or class, etc. you've selected, but if you're not adding anything to the game world by your actions, then you're really wasting time -- in my opinion.  I'd rather see a character that doesn't emote much, has a rather terse background and overal concept but leads players to battle, or to manipulate others, or otherwise gets people involved and active.  By no means am I suggesting that I frown upon creative portrayal, or in depth concepts, I think they're great, but I think those things come second to what is most important, and that is what your character does, not who your character is.  I'm not suggesting one break character and commit actions unrealistic for their persona, however.

As a new player you may be temporarily limited to how much you can affect the game world (though anything is possible).  I suggest joining a clan and learning the basics before trying anything catastrophic.  And maybe that's not the reply you're looking for or is slghtly off topic, either way, good luck!