Author Topic: Lost Emotes  (Read 411 times)

Fredd

  • Posts: 1690
Lost Emotes
« on: November 14, 2017, 11:55:04 AM »
I commonly experience times when i can't get commands into the game. i notice this the most with Say and Emotes. I'll have to spam the thing I was to say, or way, or emote 15-40 times before it will go through.

Anyone else experiencing this? I'm using mudlet, in case that might be it. i don't remember Arm doing this before I took my break. Is there a fix anyone knows of?
You have never had the urge to kill yourself, before now.

The mighty Tektolnes says, in Highlord-accented sirihish,
"cast mon un shut the fuck up ~Valasurus"

nauta

  • Posts: 2206
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2017, 11:57:54 AM »
I've never experienced that except during lag times.  Perhaps it is your DNS server setup?  Does it happen if you login from the local Starbucks instead of from home?

You could try connecting to arm using the IP address instead: 206.72.201.199.
as IF you didn't just have them unconscious, naked, and helpless in the street 4 minutes ago

Riev

  • Posts: 4793
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2017, 11:59:10 AM »
I use MUSHClient and have never seen this happen.

Is there lag between these events? Or are those specific commands being eaten but everything else is fine?

maybe there's something with Mudlet and ~ or one of the other special characters?
Masks are the Armageddon equivalent of Ed Hardy shirts.

Akariel

  • Storyteller
  • Posts: 460
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2017, 12:24:36 PM »
It's a Mudlet issue. It doesn't happen in any other client from what I can tell.

sleepyhead

  • Posts: 212
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2017, 01:05:49 PM »
This used to happened to me in CMUD sometimes. Emotes, says, psis--anything that was a bit on the long side. Stopped happening when I switched to MUSHclient.

Fredd

  • Posts: 1690
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2017, 05:53:26 PM »
thanks for the information!
You have never had the urge to kill yourself, before now.

The mighty Tektolnes says, in Highlord-accented sirihish,
"cast mon un shut the fuck up ~Valasurus"

The Lonely Hunter

  • Posts: 771
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2017, 05:55:17 PM »
I use CMud and I experience this on occasion but not so extreme. It seems to be related to using words that are in multiple triggers or other scripts but that is just a hunch.
"People survive by climbing over anyone who gets in their way, by cheating, stealing, killing, swindling, or otherwise taking advantage of others."
-Ginka

"Don't do this. I can't believe I have to write this post."
-Rathustra

Phoenix

  • Helper
  • Posts: 123
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2017, 09:41:19 PM »
It's definitely Mudlet. I also have the same issue. What I do is delete the period at the end of my sentence. Type the period back in. Then enter. And so it usually works and I only have to enter my emote/say/whatever twice instead of a bunch of times.

Namino

  • Posts: 100
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2017, 10:39:37 PM »
I use Mudlet and can confirm this defo happens to me lots.

And not just emotes.

Sometimes, it happens with simple commands.

Like stand.

And flee.

Grogerif

  • Posts: 23
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2017, 10:50:09 PM »
Happens to me once in awhile in mudlet.  Not to the degree most others are complaining about though.

chrisdcoulombe

  • Posts: 1051
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2017, 11:47:59 PM »
I never get fourty but sometimes I have to put commands through more than once.
Quote from MeTekillot
Samos the salter never goes to jail! Hahaha!

Fredd

  • Posts: 1690
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2017, 03:04:15 PM »
I never get fourty but sometimes I have to put commands through more than once.

It might be impatience, and I did fluff the number a bit, but I did count 27 the other day.
You have never had the urge to kill yourself, before now.

The mighty Tektolnes says, in Highlord-accented sirihish,
"cast mon un shut the fuck up ~Valasurus"

evilcabbage

  • Posts: 1879
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2017, 07:10:40 PM »
mushclient yo
I could give a shit about wholesome.

Phoenix

  • Helper
  • Posts: 123
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2017, 03:16:01 AM »
But to have to run Wine to run Mushclient is meh.

Delirium

  • Helper
  • Posts: 11496
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2017, 12:36:34 PM »
I liked Savitar when I was on a mac.
"Our whole lives are just stories." - Vikings

I get wherever I'm going, I get whatever I need
while my blood's still flowing and my heart still beats

Feco

  • Posts: 1784
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #15 on: November 16, 2017, 01:10:15 PM »
I do not have this problem in MUSHclient on Windows.
Quote
Sunshine all the time makes a desert.
Vote at TMS
Vote at TMC

TheGoose

  • Posts: 127
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #16 on: November 16, 2017, 02:31:01 PM »
I've actually had this issue on Mudlet. It doesn't bother me much. What IS strange is that I've never had it until I started playing Armageddon, specifically.

Is this a DikuMud thing?

azuriolinist

  • Posts: 327
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #17 on: November 16, 2017, 07:16:14 PM »
tintin for the win.

You can try fiddling around with the settings. Open up the 'Settings' and go to 'Special Options'. Check 'Force telnet GA signal interpretation off'. It may, at least, speed up how quickly Mudlet processes commands.

Also, try adding a new line to the end of your prompt (with the prompt command, you can use '\n' to force a new line) if you use a prompt trigger. That (somewhat) worked for me.

Sorry

  • Posts: 19
Re: Lost Emotes
« Reply #18 on: Today at 01:30:31 AM »
This happens a lot for me, and is really frustrating - it seems that the problem is with both CMUD and mudlet, and it doesn't happen with any others apart from Armageddon :(